pBooks or eBooks: Which side are you? Kampihan na!

Are you #TeamPbook or #TeamEbook? Do you prefer reading a physical book or you’re the modern day reader that’s more inclined with electronic books?

Hello there, book lovers! I just have some thoughts in mind about our love for reading and the ways and medium we’re using.

As you may already know, there are lots of reason why we should make ourselves read more often. Aside from keeping our brains sharp, it also lessens our risk in having Dementia when we get older. To give you more idea, here’s an article from Lifehack listing 10 Benefits of Reading.

So, being a booky like me (and you, just in case), I’m always looking forward to reading new books every so often without breaking the bank, and with that, eBook is the way to go. But, there’s a sense of joy for me in reading a physical book. What medium should I use now? Having able to use the two, I have weighed the pros and cons of both worlds.

Here, based on my experience, I’m sharing with you my observations.

openbooks.jpg

Paper Books PROS:

  1. I feel more satisfied in reading actual books, turning pages and highlighting phrases or quotes with real highlighters while sipping a cup of coffee on the side.
  2. I have a higher probability of finishing an actual book in one weekend.
  3. Reading paper book makes me fall asleep faster at night.
  4. Looking on pile of books arranged perfectly in my room makes me so happy.
  5. Lesser distraction.
  6. No radiation that can definitely harm us in the long run.
  7. Let me escape for a while in using my cellphone.

Paper Books CONS:

  1. Way pricey than eBooks.
  2. The Trees. Bow.
  3. Heavier and bulkier whenever I carry it around wherever I go (You know, just in case I feel like reading).

Screenshot_2016-09-01-13-23-22-1

Electronic Books PROS:

  1. Cheaper than actual books.
  2. I have no problem if I want to read anywhere I feel like it because I can save it in my phone, which I bring like… anywhere.

Electronic Books CONS:

  1. Sooooo maaaaany distraction. Reason why I can’t finish an eBook in one weekend. There’s always a temptation to check other apps like social media apps.
  2. Radiation. Bow.
  3. The glare of phones sends signal to your brain that it’s not yet time to hit the sack keeping you awake. That’s the reason why I always have a hard time sleeping at night whenever I’m reading an eBook.

Those were my observations and you can obviously say what team I am. Even if I have to spend bucks for a physical book, I’d still go for it especially if I really want it. I just set my mind that buying a book is a way of investment. 🙂 Though yes, trees are the major concern so hopefully, they’ll find a different material to spare our environment from destruction yet still giving us the joy of flipping pages for reading.

Both medium has its pros and cons and it’s up to you which world you’re more comfortable with. Just make sure that your reading makes you satisfied, happier and smarter with lesser harm (Yes, I’m a bit bias here. #TeamPBook). Don’t get me wrong because I would still read eBooks, mostly on those days that my pocket won’t allow me to buy a new pBook. 😀

How about you? TEAM P or TEAM E? What are your observations with it? Can you share with me some just in case it’s not listed above? I’ll appreciate it so much! Ciao! 🙂

xoxo,
signature

11 thoughts on “pBooks or eBooks: Which side are you? Kampihan na!

  1. bitchybookreviews says:

    I’m so on the fence! On one hand, ebooks are so much easier to carry around like you said. Pity they don’t look as pretty on the bookshelf tho 🙁

    Like

  2. ROBERT LEE says:

    I am all for both kinds of books, as long as one reads. Yes, both offer pros and cons and at this faster paced lifestyle today, ebooks is a better option for so many reasons, primarily, you can bring it anywhere with you. Heck, does anyone now not have a smartphone?

    Like

  3. nilyncartagena says:

    I wish I am a reader but I have admitted that I am not. huhu. For my son, I’d choose the physical books but if it’s for me, I’d rather go with ebooks, coz I’m kuripot. lol! A few years back, I worked with Barnes and Noble and during that time I was in love with books. I wished at that time that I would have a kindle device to use for reading. But that was years ago. lol.

    Like

  4. Jessica Ayun says:

    I guess both are very handy unless you are having a big hard bound book. I love ebooks that I can actually read it anytime with an instant light. And of course, I can save a lot of money. However, the feeling of smelling as I flip ever page of the book is still the best. It is still my best buddy in one corner with a cup of coffee in my hand.

    Like

  5. Mommy Queenelizabeth says:

    P.books and E.books both works for me. They’re both fine. But i still love P.books, coz Ebooks tends to make me sleep easier haha! Kidding aside, for turning pages and the smell of a book is still timeless. I love it.. Plus books piled on the bookshelf is rustic and classical.. I never want it to die esp. in todays fast paced life..

    Like

  6. Dominic says:

    I Love PBooks because I can hold them, smell them and you can see them. Ebooks on the other hand, are very handy and you can bring as many as you like. But so far, I think I am most likely to finish reading an EBOOK than a PBOOK. Harry Potter Books were an exception though. But either way, I love both and if I had money, and I really love the book, I will buy that one.

    http://thetopknotters.com

    Like

  7. Rej says:

    I’m Team P all the way. I know it’s not really eco-friendly but I love the smell of new paperback books. My eyes get too tired or bored when I read e-books. I tried it once or twice and told myself I’d rather have a physical copy than a digital one.

    Like

  8. Tamz says:

    Just the kind of post I was looking for. I am in the middle of writing my second book and I am pondering whether to make it into a Print book or an eBook. eBooks have definitely caught on by as a reader, I still prefer printed books. I love the feel of the book in my hands while I am reading it.

    Like

  9. Ma.Me.Mi.Mommy says:

    I’m with TeamE. Since the birth of ebooks, I haven’t finished a physical book yet. Waaa, right? I only find the time to read at night and with physical books, you’d need to have the light open, which bothers those who are sleeping already.

    Like

  10. Milton Coyne says:

    I am not a bookworm here and I seldom read actually but if I am to choose between the two, i would like to pick the pbooks… i personally think that reading this traditional physical books offer some kind of rewarding experience…Embracing technology is undeniably beneficial but the experience of reading books will give you such satisfying experience like no other.

    Like

Leave a Reply

