Mt. Daguldol Day Hike (with expenses)

Mt. Daguldol is situated in Brgy. Hugom, Laiya, San Juan, Batangas. It has a height of 670 meters above sea level.

We were deceived by these numbers. Haha Lagi nalang kami mali ng tansya! We thought this was going to be way easier than that of Batulao since the latter has a height of 811 MASL, but once again, we were completely wrong.

20160507_162823-01454

Our initial itinerary was to arrive in Brgy. Hugom by 9:00 a.m. and start the trek right away. But because of unforeseen instances, we arrived late. We arrived there at noon, 12:30. Because of our desire to meet the target time of finishing the hike in 5 hours or less, we decided to trek immediately after arriving at the jump off without considering our empty stomach, lack of muscle-awakening-warm-up and the scorching heat of the sun.

Jpeg

We thought we were still full of energy. At the first minutes of the hike, I’m already feeling the heat in my head. My vision was slowly turning blurry and my pacing was really slow, I’m trailing others, though I think we just felt the same that time. I had to take 5 (no! take 10. Haha) every after few steps. The blazing heat, hunger and continuous steep slope of Mt. Daguldol summed up resulted for me to feel really weak.

Jpeg

Thank God that there were a lot of Nipa huts along the way where we stopped to catch our breath and take a quick rest. Some of those also have vendors that sell fresh Buko.

Jpeg

Jpeg

DCIM100MEDIA

I’m thankful to Sir Jay and Kenn for taking care of me when my body was about to give up, and to the whole group for patiently waiting for me. hihi That was the only time that I prayed to God that if ever I’m really going to pass out, please not on that area where I’m walking just beside a cliff because I might fall off there and my friends will have a hard time retrieving my body. LOL

Jpeg

In the middle of the mountain was Lorenzo’s Place where hikers stop and rest or have lunch. We arrived there at around 1:30 p.m. and finally full our stomach. They have there a mini Carinderia, and in addition to our packed lunch, we ordered their Adobong Bayawak. It was delicious. Its meat has a similarity with that of a pork. Surprisingly, they also have here cold water and halo-halo!

DCIM100MEDIA

DCIM100MEDIA

At around 2:00 p.m., we continued our trek to the summit. This time, the heat was a bit kinder to us and our body can already tolerate it. I must say that the challenge in hiking Mt. Daguldol is its trail that’s really steep. There were only few flat trails. Thank God that at least the mountain is still full of trees making the trail fairly shaded.

Jpeg

Jpeg

Jpeg

Sir Jay told us, and as what we’ve also found on the web, the summit of Mt. Daguldol is a grassland. So when we saw a field of grass, we thought we’ve reached the top and took a group photo! Excited lang? Yun pala, hindi paaaa! hahaha

Jpeg

At around 3:00 p.m., we finally arrived at the “teletubbies land” summit of Mt. Daguldol. This time, it’s for real. We’ve reached the toooop!

20160507_162204

And the view was really stunning. You’ll see there the sea and sky meet. It was so worth it and we felt really fulfilled.

20160507_165001

Screenshot_2016-05-07-16-01-51

After taking few photos and videos to remember and be proud of (hihi) we started descending. Going down was way faster and easier though the suffering was more on the knees this time, so just be careful with your steps so to avoid injuries. If I’m not mistaken, we finished our hike at 5:00 p.m.

Jpeg

Sir Jay told us that despite the struggles, we were able to finish our trek faster than we thought. It was so satisfying thinking that we were slow-paced! 🙂

We will definitely do a revenge hike for Mt. Daguldol. And by then, we’ll make sure that we will start early morning OR we will consider doing an overnight as the summit is perfect for star gazing. 🙂

In case you want to freshen up after you descend, beaches are accessible within the area. If I’m not mistaken, 150php entrance fee. If you want to rent a cottage, 1,000-1,500php rental fee for a large cottage.

Jpeg

Jpeg

REMINDERS

Bring any sun protection (sunblock, cap/hat, scarf/towel, arm cover).

Carry with you enough water to keep you hydrated. 2L of water would be enough as you can buy at Lorenzo’s in case you run out.

Bring trail foods. Fruits like bananas are good. Jelly ace is good as well.

Make sure to start your trek early morning as the heat of the sun can really be harsh for trekkers during noon.

And also, make sure to carbo-load before doing a hike so you’ll not run-out of energy.

EXPENSES

Registration fee – 35php

Guide fee – 400php

Shower – 50php

Parking Fee – 100php

Fresh Buko – 20php

That’s it! Another ANNventure done, and definitely more to come! I hope this made you want to climb Mt. Daguldol as well. And if so, kwento mo naman sa comment yung experience mo. Ciao! 🙂

P.S. Thank you to my dear friends, Allentot and Kelay, for your photos! If not because of those, this blog will be woooorrrdyyyy. haha And a huge thank you to Putik Adventures team (Sir Jay, Sir Dino, Kuya Xander) for being so kind and patient with us po. Kudos! More climbs with your group! 🙂

xoxo,
signature

12 thoughts on “Mt. Daguldol Day Hike (with expenses)

  1. Marge Gavan says:

    It’s amazing how many beaches and mountains you can see in Batangas. I didn’t know about Mt. Dagulgol until now, but I’m not climbing any mountain right now, not when the weather is this hot, but I’d take note of Mt. Dagulgol. Maybe I can scale it when the weather is a bit better.

    Like

  2. heidi says:

    You must really love hiking, it looks so physically challenging. You’re tips look very useful. I’m sure it was worth it to see such beautiful locations.

    Like

  3. Jessica Ayun says:

    I was with my friends last January in Laiya and we initially planned to climb Mt. Daguldol the next day but the beach (resorts, etc.) are too crowded for us so we decided to change plans. Pity we missed this moutain! Next time we will really do it.

    Like

  4. Mirriam (Mirriam Dictionary) says:

    What an awesome activity for way less than a thousand pesos! I am an outdoor girl when I was young but my allergies and asthma always get in the way. I hope my physician will clear me for a trip like this 😀

    Like

  5. travelerettenyc says:

    That looks like so much fun. What gorgeous weather you guys had! And I love the “Teletubbies land” at the top. I always think that hikes are somewhat painful while you are doing them, but at the end it is all worth it.

    Like

  6. Zwitsy says:

    One word, WOW! I just couldn’t imagine myself trekking during that hours. Also, I wonder if what does adobong bayawak really taste? I find it weird, lol. I haven’t tried trekking yet but if ever, I will always take note of doing that early in the morning instead of noon. That surely exhausting, for sure!

    Like

  7. mariaisquixotic says:

    That teletubbies land though! Hahaha! I see that you’re such an adventurous person. I envy people who hike because they have the strengths who enables them to do the physical activities related to it.

    Like

    • annmaziing says:

      Yup, mas madali at mas mabilis pababa pero mas masakit sa tuhod. 😀 Yes, pwede mag-overnight. We actually met along the way some overnighters. 🙂 They just brought their tents. Perfect yung place for stargazing so make sure to go there na hindi maulan. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

