My Highlights of the Year That Was

As I am anticipating a fruitful new year, I’d like to also look back on the great moments of my 2015. So, read on to find out how it went! Tara! πŸ˜„

1. I had my teeth wired.

It’s been a dream of mine ever since I was a child to have braces because how my teeth looked before is a bit awful. I can’t smile confidently in photos, I’m always cautious in talking or smiling whenever there are cameras around that I might get captured candidly and I don’t wanna be in a video with my face focused on with some talking needed. hahaha I was so hopeless then! πŸ™ˆIt affects so much of my personality as many people would think I’m snob or mataray but I was not. It’s just that I’m really not happy with how my teeth looked that’s why I rarely smile to people. And this year, after so many struggles, I finally have my braces on! Surprisingly, in just a short period of time, I already saw changes. I can already smile on people. Yes, inner beauty is much more important, but your physical appearance could also contribute on your confidence and life perception. So if there’s something you can do to improve your inner and outer beauty, go for it! πŸ˜‰ It’ll still be a long journey for sure but I’m certain as well that it’ll be worth it. πŸ™‚
image

image

2. I was able to join a running event.

If you weren’t able to read my blog about this, it was also my dream to join a running event. Had been trying to register but for some reasons, it didn’t happen until this year, just before the year ends it finally happen! hehe Check on this https://annmaziingblog.wordpress.com/2015/12/04/the-music-run-my-music-run/ if you wanna know more about this experience. πŸ™‚

image

image

image

3. I already have a hiking experience.

And yes, another dream that came true this year was to be able to climb a mountain. Yes, at first I was just mesmerized with my friends’ hiking photos but then when I experienced it myself, there’s so much more behind those photos. That sense of fulfillment and accomplishment, the experience, hardships and friendship and the adoration of the beauty of God’s creation was much more beautiful than that of the summit photos. I swear! So for those who haven’t tried it yet, why not include it on your to-do-list this coming year? Because I will definitely do more climbing this 2016! *crossed-fingers*

image

image

image

image

4. I got my passport.

I’ve been trying to apply for a passport way way back I started working but I cannot find time to do so, but this year I got it already! haha Because I’ll be needing it to start my 2016 with a blast!!! And yes, it’s a valid ID as well so, it’ll help me a lot with other stuff. You know what I mean. hehe

image

5. I moved in.

Yeah, after soooooo much considerations (like I’m gonna miss my family, and my bed, and the TV and my parents’ cooking), I finally moved in an apartment with some friends. Somewhere near my work so as to avoid daily horrible traffic and yes, that undying reason of all who’ve moved in which is to become…. independent. I haven’t felt it yet but I guess it would take time to really feel and know that you’re already independent. Some things I found hard when you’re already living by yourself is that it really is hard to handle your finances and to decide what to eat everyday with considerations like you want it to be healthy yet cheap because you want to stick to your budget. I just found it also to be fulfilling that you’ve made a right decision to enter a path to maturity. πŸ™‚

6. I had a one-step-higher in my work.

Please don’t be mislead by this. I was just too appreciative of things, even small things, happening in my life. πŸ™‚ It’s not a promotion or something like that. It’s just a change of work role. I just see it as a way of growth and being equipped, personally and career wise. Though I realized I still have a lot of learning to do because most of the time I find myself a bit lost. haha Nevertheless, I want to give it some time because it really takes time to learn a thing or two and you just can’t give up just because.

7. My family and I were able to squeeze in some summer vacation.

Yeah. Who wouldn’t include family time for their highlights of the year? Of course, with all the busy sched of everyone, it’s a blessing having them all said yes for a vacation. πŸ™‚ We had it at one of our favorite summer escapade place, a beach at Ternate, Cavite. Hope we can go back there this coming year or be able to go somewhere new as long as it is with them. πŸ˜„

image

image

image

8. I had a reconciliation with a friend.

Hay. Finally, after a year. We just had a misunderstanding that lead to unfriending and blocking. At first I was angry because of the thought of.. why does it have to go that far, that you would unfriend a friend? But then I realized, maybe it was really a way of cooling down and avoiding further, deep damage to the friendship. And yes, after a year, we’re back to normal! Yay to that! Just like any other relationship, friendships are not an exception to flaws, shortcomings, imperfections, misunderstandings and all that. But a friendship that can stand all those pitfalls will definitely have a life-long commitment of being together for a lifetime. Just like us! ❀

image

image

image

image

9. I was able to participate in a charity event.

It was also a dream for me to participate in something that will touch other people’s lives. Thanks to my work colleagues who also happen to be my co-July birthday celebrants and jogging “bodies” and some kind friends for making this happen. We all wanted to have a birthday for a cause, something more meaningful, and since it’s our first time and we’re just a small group (6 girls), we decided to just have a childrens party for a small group of teenagers in the National Center for Mental Health in Mandaluyong. We had some activities and fun games with them while letting them tell their stories. It was a really touching and meaningful experience. Those kids may no longer remember us but what they’ve let us realize about life and struggles will be with us for a lifetime. I said I want to touch other people’s lives but it goes the other way around. I hope someday I’ll be able to participate in a bigger charity event. In God’s grace. πŸ™‚

image

image

image

image

10. I got my heart broken.

Broken into pieces. Still figuring out how to fix it, but I’m okay. Heart’s still working. ☺

So, I guess my 2015 was pretty awesome! I was able to accomplish some dreams. Just keep pushing and if it’s meant to happen, that thing you’ve been longing will happen to you in no time. Just pray, believe and work for it. ☺

Yes, it may be a bitter sweet year but sure it’s more sweet than bitter. πŸ™‚ It would’ve been sweet all throughout the year if not because of that no. 10. But still, I found that as a blessing in disguise because most of my wonderful experiences happened after that. Thanks to God for all the blessings of the past year and for always being there protecting and guiding all my steps. ❀

It excites me a lot to close another chapter of this journey called life and start a new one! And the thought of discovering what God will unfold this coming year really thrills me! Are you? ☺

So, how was your year went? I’d love to listen, or read rather, if you would want to share. πŸ˜‰ Holiday cheers! Ciao!

xoxo,
signature

Leave a Reply

